The City of Razzmatazz

I’m proud to get ” the perfect -poet -award” for the third time.I’d like to thank all my friends who participate in the Jingle poets’ rally ; special thanks go to whoever nominated me for this award and for Jingle ;  she invests plenty of time and efforts  in managing this rally.

http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/05/02/poetry-awards-for-week-16-thursday-poets-rally/

A stranger in   this city

among a sea of strangers.

Hubbub  Hustle and bustle

Confusion and chaos

On streets and sidewalks.

A stranger in   this city

among a sea of strangers.

Lost , bewildered and lonely

Amongst  masses of people

Rushing , Walking to and fro.

A stranger in   this city

among a sea of strangers

Dwarfed by towering buildings

Grey concrete tentacles

That eclipse sunset , moon and stars

A stranger in   this city

Among a sea of strangers

Neon signs and billboards

Their  strong  flickering lights

Blurr my weak  eye-sight

A stranger in   this city

Among a sea of strangers

Honking Vehicules  cram

In a terrible traffic jam

The overwhelming din

Makes my head spin.

A stranger in   this city

among a sea of strangers.

Shattered dreams vaporize

And mingle with the smog

That hovers  over the city

The strange city of razzmatazz.

******************

I nominate  Jingle  for  the award , she deserves it for the lovely poetry she’s been posting since I knew her.

34 Responses

  1. http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/05/09/sunday-special-awards-for-remarkable-memes-and-participants/

    Meme participation awards,
    Sorry for being late.
    It takes me days to have everyone notified!

  2. A lively descriptive poem on the big city syndrome.

  3. What strikes me most is the perceptible chaos emerging through your lines, the feel of overwhelming acclimation passing through disorientation. Thanks, wordwand

  4. oops!!!! double invitation that means you should 🙂 🙂

  5. dear rahim,

    want to join a story writing game? shakira tagged me in it. i loved it.

    Tara Miller started a new story this week, will you help her to finish it? I am TAGGING YOU.. please go to http://taramillerwrites.wordpress.com/2010/05/05/word-wednesday-2/
    to write the next 1-3 lines to a story yet told! Once you have done that, please TAG others too.

  6. My dear Rahim,

    We started a new story this week, help us finish it? I am TAGGING YOU.. please go to Wordy Wednesday @Tara Miller Writes to write the next 1-3 lines to a story yet told! Once you have done that, please TAG others too. Happy Thursday. hugs shakira

  7. loved the whole feel of the poem ….. amazing imagery

    happy blogging take care .. !

  8. They can be exhausting places, can’t they?
    The repetition worked well in this.

  9. The City – has the ability to suck our senses dry and leave us with polluted…

    Thanks for your comments on my site

    happy Rally

  10. Big cities have a way of exhausting our senses – or sucking us dry

    Happy Thursday Poets Rally

    Thanks for all your visits

  11. I actually read this to the rhythm of the music that plays here.
    Excellent

  12. I like your imagery. I can picture the busy city that surrounds so many in real life, but found even more life in the picture of all of us as strangers in a strange land. Nice piece.

  13. Please come over to here and here
    to help me wish HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Viola.
    Love you!
    hugs
    shakira

  14. Enjoyed the imagery you left for us here. I love the City, but also relieved to return to the wilds I call home.

  15. when i read this, i really feel like i am inside this city, well done my friend!

  16. Shattered dreams vaporize

    And mingle with the smog

    That hovers over the city
    Awesome image…love it!!!

  17. THE WINNER HAS NOW BEEN POSTED FRIEND 🙂

  18. A beautiful poem, powerful and descriptive. I enjoyed this very much. It’s an honor to read your creative expression, so beautifully elucidated in such fine narrative. Well written sir.

    ps: thanks for your kindness in visiting my page and commenting. Your response is uplifting.
    I have added you to my blogroll – I hope this is ok with you?

    John
    Poet Traveler

  19. hi missar,

    these lines in your poem moved me into pensive mood;

    Shattered dreams vaporize

    And mingle with the smog

    That hovers over the city

    this is something sad and the strong feeling alienation grips. wonderfully written!

  20. wow. this is simply fantastic. it has perfectly painted the psychological condition of a person visiting a big city for the first time… lovely.

  21. Absolutely stunning. You capture the imagery so well. In so many ways, we are all such strangers, and so many faces and realities blur into one…beautiful.

  22. I LOVE LOVE this poem, Rahim.
    What a fun and wonderful poem!
    I read it again and again…one of your best poem yet?
    BRAVO!
    hugs
    shakira

  23. thank you for the nomination,
    I feel humbled!
    you are so very kind and wise!
    I feel the city when I was in Chicago, IL,
    when I do vacations and visit the city…

    lovely words,
    mastery delivery!

  24. Nicely written, very well done 🙂
    Thanks so much for dropping kind comments as well. I really appreciate.

  25. you know i felt exactly like that when i first moved to Baltimore….nice one. thanks for always dropping warm comments as well. much appreciated.

  26. very nice poem friend, jingle will be delighted 🙂

  27. Wonderful poem with a clear picture from the beginning to end of the poem.

  28. thanks for accepting the award and post a well witten poem!

  29. in any city, there are strangers…
    awesome play and vivid images!

  30. I agree, nice job on the imagery. Also loved the last part about “shattered dreams”. great job.

  31. Was this poem partly inspired by razzmatazz (the dance reality show)…it could be almost any large city in many ways…well crafted poem.

  32. Wow, I will love to visit this city. Nice constructive imagery. Cheers!!!

Leave a Reply

