To My Mother

To you dear mother ,
I pay this homage
To celebrate your boundless love
and rare courage.

Whenever I fell ill
or felt pain inside,
You were always there
caring , by my bedside.

You spent sleepless nights
to cater for my needs.
This is the apex of love
and what sacrifice means

You sowed in me
seeds of devotion and respect
Now , they have bloomed
into rosy prospects

Though illiterate ,
you’re a well of wisdom
Full of witty ideas
and matchless decorum

As peaceful and lovely as a dove
You’re the soul of the family
and my symbol of love.

12 Responses

  1. This is a lovely image of a mother. I especially like the line about her being the soul of the family. It is often true that the women of a family are like the glue that holds things together. Thanks for sharing!

  2. i dont remember a better portrayal of mother’s love. you are genius.

  3. I really enjoyed this poem. It has wonderful flow and meaning. Nice job!

  4. loving your mother is cool.
    beautiful poem!
    πŸ˜‰

  5. awesome job.

    I arked u down as mission complete for Thursday Poets’ Rally,
    we need someone like u who truly committed on reaching out…
    Happy SunDay!
    πŸ˜‰

  6. Beautiful poem about one’s mother. Absolutely true. I will definately return to read more of your work.

  7. Very nice! Mothers certainly leave a deep and lasting impression on their children. The way it should be. I hope I’ll do the same. πŸ™‚

  8. Nice poem!

  9. I like all of your poems especially to my mother it s rich of many feelings

  10. Mom I finally understand
    for a woman it ain’t easy tryin to raise a man
    You always was committed
    A poor single mother on welfare, tell me how ya did it
    There’s no way I can pay you back
    But the plan is to show you that I understand
    You are appreciated

  11. It’s a great homage to all our beloved mothers ;thank you my friend about your poem and continue your creative work

Leave a Reply

