The Silent Harp

Newlywed but suddenly bereaved,

completely depressed and deeply grieved.

I sat by myself under the apple tree

where we used to meet you and me.

Since you died and left me alone,

My heart has become void and forlorn.

my eyes congested with frozen tears

and my mind haunted by broken dreams.

On the tree , our heart symbols closely knit

and our engraved names beautifully fit.

You used to play the harp for me

with a matchless skill and ecstasy .

I listened to you with joy and pride

and on my face a blissful smile I couldn’t hide.

Birds perched on a bough so enthused,

envied you and looked utterly bemused.

When I told you the Romeo and juliet story,

you shed tears and showed worry.

I didn’t know then that it was a sinister sign of doom

that promised impending death and utter gloom.

13 Responses

  1. you are a magician with words.

  2. beautiful poem. your words, your thoughts, they’re awesome.

  3. Amazing….truly well written.

  4. Nice Stuff. I enjoyed reading the ‘Silent Harp’ poem, today. Indeed, the harp is a symbolic instrument, being played by the Greek Mythological Gods. This poem reads in a smooth flow fashion. Well, I can visualize hearing the sound of the harp, being play, as I glide through this tantalizing piece. Still, I am deeply impressed with your truth telling and story telling capabilities. Thus, the superb imagery, tone and color of this poem sings, with resonance. Well done! I hope that my poetry inspires you too? Do take care

    dracegannon

  5. sadness on a page…. 😦

  6. well written poem.

  7. Oh how tragic!

  8. beautiful and sad! some wonderful writing over here 🙂

  9. This is such a beautifully tragic poem! Thank you.

  10. Beautiful writing thank you for sharing your talent with us!!

  11. death is cruel when it has love in it,
    beautiful poem!

    Gifted writer,
    Happy Friday!

  12. Wordwand-

    Thank you for drawing me to your blog!

    I am curious about your use of pictures. Do you find your inspiration in the pictures, or do you find the picture to match the poem after it is written?

    -Cubehermit

Leave a Reply

